Posted on

Deathbed Confessional

A lot can be said about deathbed confessions. If I ever had to stand accountable for every “secret” I have, well, the world might just cave in on itself. Not saying I’m a bad person cause I’m not. I pay my taxes like you, I work a normal 9-5 like everyone else and I don’t beat my kid or my man. But I haven’t always been an outstanding member of society.

I’ve gotten into my share of trouble as a kid, but then again who hasn’t? Nothing major, nothing I’ve went to prison for but still. I’m no saint by far! I drink, I smoke sometimes (if that’s possible to sometimes smoke) I tell the occasional little white lie. To shorten my point: I’m not perfect.

If I had to list the ONE SINGLE THING that I would most likely be thinking about on my deathbed, it would probably be the one thing I regret most. For the most part, I live without regrets. After all, life is too short to focus on negative things. I don’t regret a single thing I’ve ever done. Sometimes I do regret who I did those things with, but I digress.

My regrets aren’t about past mistakes and failures. They are about the things I never got a chance to even do. I don’t know if I’ll fail or succeed because I never got a chance to even try. It’s the things in life that nag at me at the back of my mind. Screaming at me that I’m not good enough because I didn’t even attempt them.

Like running a marathon. Every time I don’t train, or even enter, I’ve already failed. Can’t win something you’re not even a part of. Every time I have a chance to volunteer and don’t, I’ve failed my community. These kinds of things hurt me deeper than anything I’ve done in my past.

The past is gone, the future isn’t here yet, but today: Today is where we should focus on. Today is what matters. Everyday should be a gift, it’s why we call it the present.

I know, a bit cliche, but you know it’s true. What do you regret most?

 

About xunicornsxsparklex

I'm nothing really special, just a girl, with a face and a few hopes, dreams, and aspirations. I live life to the fullest I can. I deal with a lot. I'm snarky, hot headed, and thick skulled. I do what I want. All things aside, I'm a pretty decently nice person.

3 responses to “Deathbed Confessional

  1. Pingback: Don’t Regret The Past | Mind Connections

  2. Pingback: No Regrets, I wouldn't Change the Past | Mind Connections

Leave a Reply

