Posted on

It’s Technically Thanksgiving right?

English: DC USA, Target, Black Friday

English: DC USA, Target, Black Friday (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

First of all, I want to wish each and everyone of you a very Happy Thanksgiving. With family flooding in and last minute trips to the stores I understand there is a lot on everyone’s mind today. I haven’t updated in a while but I felt really compelled to write today. I recently got a new job in retail. At KMart to be exact, and working here has taught me many many things. As a cashier I see all types of people. Old people, young people, poor people and not so poor people (rich people aren’t plentiful in my demographic). I hear many things and information that I wouldn’t be otherwise privy to. So when It came to my attention that a petition was going around facebook, willing people to think twice about going in to retail stores on Thanksgiving and black Friday i was curious. I have never before been shopping on black friday or grey thursday (that’s thanksgiving to those who aren’t aware) and so I was a little curious about all the hullabaloo. So I did some research and found the petition. I was amazed that there were over 100,000 signatures on that thing!*

 

I couldn’t believe it. I found some youtube videos and watched about 3 or 4 before I made up my mind to quit. There is simply no way in hell that I am going to work in that mess, for minimum wage with one 10 minute break. And before any of you think “well, at least it’s a job” let me share one more thing with you.

 

On Thanksgiving of all days, I am scheduled to work from 7am until 11 am. Not bad really, until you factor in that at 11am I need to choose wither or not to go back to sleep, or to give myself heart murmurs from ingesting huge amounts of energy drinks. Why you ask? because after I am off at 11am I am scheduled to go back in at 8 that evening until 5 am the next morning. That alone is an 8 hour shift. Mind you, that’s 5 am on black friday. Then I turn around and come home, and hopefully the energy drinks will let me sleep by then or I’m in a whole new pile of turds, because I work again at 1pm until 10pm on black friday. Then Saturday I return bright and early at 9am and stas until 10pm.

 

I am pleading with anyone who may need to run to the stores tomorrow (today technically) or just wants to take advantage of the sales, to please remember that there are others out there who are sacrificing their holidays and time with their kids, so that you can enjoy yours.

 

The whole tradition behind THANKSgiving is to give thanks. Not to see how much food we can stuff in our faces while yelling at cashiers and trampling babies. Yes, that’s right, trampling babies. I will post a video in my next post.

 

This year I’m Thankful for actually sacrificing my job, for things that truly matter. My Family. Have a blessed Holiday each and everyone 🙂

 

*this figure was accurate as of Monday 11/25 and may be more by the time of this posting.

 

 

About xunicornsxsparklex

I'm nothing really special, just a girl, with a face and a few hopes, dreams, and aspirations. I live life to the fullest I can. I deal with a lot. I'm snarky, hot headed, and thick skulled. I do what I want. All things aside, I'm a pretty decently nice person.

Leave a Reply

